top of page

The Central Executive

The Executive branch of the Central Student Government at the University of Michigan is primarily comprised of the Central Student Government President and Vice President, Treasurer, and the Student General Counsel. Other Executive Officials may also be appointed by the President; These may include, but are not limited to the Chief of Staff, Chief Programming Officer, and Communications Director.

Executive Roles and Organization

Central Student Government President

  • Oversees and coordinates all Central Student Government Activities and serves as the chief spokesperson for CSG

  • The President may appoint executive commissions to study issues on campus, work on campaigns, initiatives, and projects within the vision of CSG

  • The CSG President may appoint students to serve on University-wide committees as well as  commission chairs with advice and consent of the Assembly

  • The CSG President serves as a non-voting ex-officio member of the Assembly

  • May recommend measures to the Assembly

  • The Central Student Government President shall make any reports to the Board of Regents available to the Assembly and students at large on the CSG website before their presentation to the Regents

Central Student Government Vice President

  • Chairs the University Council

  • The CSG Vice President serves as a non-voting ex-officio member of the Assembly

  • May recommend measures to the Assembly


  • Chief financial officer of Central Student Government

  • Disburses funds appropriated by the Assembly as provided for in the Constitution and in the Compiled Code

  • Prepares a Financial Status Report at the end of each winter semester

  • Assists legislature in drafting a proposed annual budget for the Central Student Government

  • Serves as a non-voting ex-officio member of the Assembly

Student General Counsel

  • Chief representative of CSG in matters before student judiciaries

  • Has standing for all cases submitted to the Central Student Judiciary

  • Advises Executive and Legislative branches on interpretation of the Constitution and Compiled Code

  • May serve as a non-voting ex-officio member of the Assembly

  • Charged with determining apportionment each winter

  • Oversees the University Elections Commission, Special Prosecutor, and Election Director

Executive Committee

The Executive Committee is comprised of the President, Vice President, Treasurer, Student General Counsel, the Speaker of the Assembly, and any other executive official the president may designate.

Executive Commissions

The CSG President may appoint executive commissions. A commission shall serve concurrently with the appointing president's term at the President's discretion. Any student, faculty member, or staff member of the university may serve on any CSG commission. The chair of each commission shall submit periodic written reports to the Assembly.

The Cabinet

The Cabinet is comprised of the Executive Committee, Commission Chairs, and the Chair of the Student Organization Funding Commission (SOFC).

Past Administrations

To navigate the CSG's past Executive Administrations, follow the links below!

bottom of page